Thank You for 100 Followers!

100

Um. WHAT.

When I started blogging, I went in with no idea if I’d ever get any followers. I couldn’t have guessed that so many amazing, supportive people would click the follow button! Not only that, but you guys leave the best comments. You give me way more “audience participation” than might be expected of a blog three times this size. I am incredibly grateful for the wonderful blogging community I’ve found through Remnants of Wit!

Speaking of amazing, supportive people… all the questions you guys sent in were so much fun to answer! Here are my replies!

theloyalbritwit said: How’d you decided on your blog name and does it have anything to do with your Thursday/Friday posting schedule? I’m super curious about the title because it’s charming and catchy, if something can be both. 

Thank you! My blog’s name was actually my sister’s idea. It’s from a quote from Much Ado about Nothing, act II, scene 3: “I may chance have some odd quirks and remnants of wit broken on me.” (It’s part of Benedick’s long speech after he hears that Beatrice is in love with him. According to No Fear Shakespeare, it means “People might tease me here and there.”) I wanted my blog name to be catchy and literary-sounding, preferably from a classic book. “Remnants of Wit” fit the bill perfectly!

giphy

It has nothing to do with my Thursday/Friday posting schedule. But I’ve been trying to connect the two in my mind ever since you asked this question. Question to everyone: how might these two things be related?

Amelia in Hull said: My questions are where do you see yourself and your blog going in the future and who inspires you the most in life?

Oh gosh… I really don’t know where my blog and I are going! I hope to keep building my community and get better at writing. As for who inspires me… I’d have to say my dad, even though he drives me crazy sometimes. He survived a civil war in Central America, came to the United States at age 19, went to college and graduate school, and carried his passion for writing church music into his full-time job. Pretty cool.

A.J. Reeves said: Out of curiosity how did you get into poetry? Through school, family, just you? And also who is your favorite poet/poem?

Ooh, good question! My mom was a literature professor and read poetry to me from a young age. And in sixth grade, my teacher had Poetry Friday every week (which is where the feature on my blog has its origins), and he introduced me to poems I still love today, such as “Flying at Night” and “Sonnet on his Blindness.” So I guess my love of poetry comes from both home and school. My current favorite poet is Gerard Manley Hopkins, and my favorite poem is either “God’s Grandeur” or “The Windhover,” both by Hopkins.

rhymelovingwriter said: Since no one else has taken your hint yet, I’m curious…what are your cheese preferences, who or what provides you with blogging inspiration, and (dare I ask) what are your innermost desires? Since you hinted at ‘overlap’ – this ought to be interesting.

Now I have to figure out a way to link all these together… OK, my favorite kind of cheese is good old-fashioned mozzarella string cheese. Classy, right? I tend to blog my best while consuming copious amounts of said cheese. And my innermost desire is to seek truth, goodness, and beauty– qualities I think cheese embodies very well.

L.E. Hunt said: Hm, let’s see… what’s something you know more about than you probably should?

Probably Harry Potter. I used to have TONS of random Harry Potter trivia memorized, and I still know a good chunk of it. Though I’m sure my knowledge pales in comparison to the more, um, enthusiastic fans.

Simply Megan Joy said: Which Shakespeare play do you consider the most impacting?

The most impactful, you say? I’d have to say Macbeth. Something about watching his descent into madness resonated with me, though I have no idea why.

Would you rather read a book or listen to the audiobook?

Funny you should ask this. I never listen to audiobooks, but recently I’ve been listening to The Lord of the Rings on audiobook, and I love it. I’m not sure if I can say that I prefer audiobooks across the board, but I’d definitely rather listen to The Lord of the Rings than read it. I mean, the narrator sings all the songs and does different voices for all the characters. What more could you want?

What do you imagine your life to be like in 25 years?

Oh gosh… I really have no idea. All I can do is expect the unexpected–I bet something crazy will happen and derail all my life plans!

shatterthefourthwall said: What is your biggest regret?

You went straight for the deep stuff, huh? I wish I’d been less of a jerk when I was younger. I was really bossy and mean, and I probably made people feel bad about themselves all the time without realizing it. Looking back, I cringe and think, What made me think that was an acceptable way for a human being to behave?

justaplatypus said: My question is if you could enter any one fictional world which would it be? 

The Shire, hands down. I’m basically a hobbit–I love eating with my friends and family and I have huge feet. If I were about three feet shorter, I’d fit right in.

And if you could bring any one character out of their book to be a part of your life, who would that be?

Oh shoot, this is way harder. Probably Sam Gamgee. Love that dude. I want to be his best friend.

orchidsarefascinating said: My question is what was/is your favorite picture book and why?

Good question! That’s hard to say… I don’t remember having a favorite when I was little, but I do recall loving  Dr. Seuss’ One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish. All the creatures were so fun. Now, my favorite picture book is Dinotopia by James Gurney, which is a lavishly illustrated account of a shipwrecked sailor’s adventures in a world where dinosaurs and humans coexist. It’s one of the most beautiful things to ever appear in front of human eyeballs.

That was a lot of fun! Once again, huge thanks to everyone who asked questions and has stuck around for Remnants of Wit. How would you answer some of these questions? How do you feel about my answer to your question? Let me know in comments!

20 thoughts on “Thank You for 100 Followers!

  1. Oh my gosh!! If I could live anywhere Middle Earth is definitely the location I am pretty sure that’s true for my whole family. It’s up between The Shire and Rohan though! I really love horses. Also Sam Wise is my precious! I love him so much!
    Thanks so much for answering my question it was really interesting and it had been a pleasure learning a little more about the person behind the blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you! Thanks for the question 🙂 Rohan is pretty cool too, but I’m scared of horses and have no experience with them so I’ll stick to the Shire–though it might be fun to go to Rivendell and Lothlorien! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. orchidsarefascinating says:

    🙂 Haha, I love your answer about cheese embodying “…truth, goodness, and beauty.” Now I’m going to read Dinotopia. I prefer dragons over dinosaurs, but I looked it up and the illustrations are incredible!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations once again!!! And thank you for answering my questions!! 😌😁 I didn’t think I could adore the title of your blog any further until you said it was Shakespearean inspired! 😍💜 Hilariously (or is it ironically?), just the other day I was contemplating using something of Shakespeare’s to turn it into a metaphor/simile. (I literally cannot say metaphor and Shakespeare without thinking of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.) 😅 Tell your sister that’s a great suggestion (if you haven’t already haha) and I enjoy the literary hat-tipping. One last thing, I’m sorry for making you think about my follow up question but hopefully something comes from it. I’ll be thinking on it. Cheers, friend! 💫🌸

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

